Canadian muslim au pair looking for a family in London

Assalmu alaykum future host family,

I would like to describe myself with this letter. It was always a great dream of mine to live and work in a foreign country and I am really excited that it will become a reality soon. I would like to go to England because I think it is a beautiful country with its beautiful nature and monuments. I am fascinated by the marvelous landscape and by the nice, kind and friendly people living in England.

My family is of Moroccan origins, we were all born and raised in Canada except for my parents who came to the country before we were born. We are a family of five, there are my parents, my younger brother (he is 16 years old), my oldest brother (he is 20 years old) and me (19 years old). My mother is a housewife and she is also employed as a worker for the company l’Oréal. She is a nice and friendly person and likes to talk with other people.

My father works as a butcher in a grocery retailer and he is the opposite of my mother because he is more quiet and loves working out to keep his body healthy.
I have a loving relationship with my brother and my parents. Sometimes there is a little quarrel but I think this is normal and we try to resolve our problems together.

Now, time to talk a little more about me. I am a creative and ambitious young woman because I have a lot of ideas about my future. I am interested in the English language and want to undertake a career as an English teacher, for this reason I want to go to a University which offers the branch English Literature and Linguistics.

In 2017, I worked in a home decor store in my spare time where I got experience as a furniture sales associate. I recommended products based on customer needs and desires, answered questions regarding products but that was not all. I attracted new customers, communicated with prospects on the and face-to-face, advised clients how to match various furniture items and more. The boss was living me alone in the store, therefore I had the responsibility to do all those tasks by myself. It was hard work but now I am sure that I can say that I am very flexible and independent.

Also, I worked as a babysitter for a family who’s child was not more than 3 years old. I had the responsibility to care for the child at the employer’s home by changing diapers, watching the sleeping child, making sure the child eats his snacks, keeping the kitchen and its environs neat and in good condition during work hours, taking charge of feeding the pets (the couple had two cats), maintaining a clean and healthy environment inside the home, disciplining the child in keeping with the methods requested by the parents and more. I also enjoyed playing all sorts of games with the child. I had to play activities and accompany the child to activities outside the home environment. This work shows my sense of responsibility and reliability as I had to keep a careful eye on the child at all times. The parents trusted in me and so I got more and more responsibility. I tried (an I naturally try) hard to do my best and I did a good job according to the parents.

It is not always easy to take care of children but it is a great experience to share some time with them. I have much patience because I trained this skills during my work experience and during my other baby-sitting jobs. I think it is the wrong way to shout at children. I have the strength to set them limits if necessary and I am consequent.

I try to be polite, creative and humorous. It is a dream of mine to go to England and I can combine it with a wonderful and interesting job: to care for your children.
I do not have problems to help in the household. I really love cooking and I like to taste other foods. Another hobby of mine is reading. I read all kind of books and I like to discuss about them. I am really interested in islamic books and texts of our noble scholars. I prefer to watch Mecca and Madeenah channel on TV and I try my best to learn something new. Al hamduliLlah as a muslim, I don’t buy, cook, eat or handle any food or drink which contains alcohol or pork. I buy, cook, eat and handle Halal foods only (which I don’t mind to buy and prepare for myself if your family don’t consume it).
– I happily comply with my religious duties, including wearing the Hijab and pray at least five times a days.
Being an au-pair means that both of us will experience a different culture, way of life and know more about our respective cultures. Personally I’ll be happy to live in a multicultural environment and create a successful relationship with a lovely and caring family.

As an au-pair I’m expecting to do both childcare and general household duties for up to 25 hours a week, five days a week, in return of full board and logging. My priority will be to look after your children and my duties will includes:

– Help the children to get ready for school/nursery during school days and take care of they uniforms.
– prepare children’s breakfast, lunch boxes and take them to school (I do not have a driving’s license so if the school is close I can go with them by walk);
– pick them from school, prepare an afternoon snack and drive them for organised activities, sport classes, etc..
– assist the children with homeworks (if possible) and make sure that they have books and homework ready for school;
– play with them indoor or outdoor;
– bath them:
– get the children ready for bed time;
– do extra babysitting for few hours, two evenings a week;
– cook some healthy meals;
– work more hours during school holidays.

I’m also expecting to do light housework like:
– clean up the dishes;
– keep children’s room tidy;
– do children’s laudry and ironing their clothes;
– clean shared spaces like kitchen, living room, bathroom, etc;
– do vacuum cleaning and dusting;

In return I’m asking:
– own private room with free internet access.
– the possibility to attend my language classes, religious services or do my hobbies while children are at school;
– weekly pocket money, which amount varies depending on the number of children to look after and my duties.

It’s essential for me to live in a non-smoking environment. My aim is to spend with your family about eight months, but if after this period both of us are happy to carry on with the au-pair position, In shaa Allah I’ll be more than happy to stay longer.

One of my best characteristics is my tolerance. Nowadays it is very important to be tolerant because there are so many different countries and traditions.
I hope that I am the right person to take care of your children and I am looking forward to hearing from you soon!

REF: Islamic Parenting

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *